A praying life

29 10 2009

Last week on holidays I read a book on prayer called “A Praying Life” by Paul E. Miller. It was very stirring for my prayer life. Here are a couple of excerpts.

“To teach us how to pray, Jesus told stories of weak people who knew they couldn’t do life on their own. The persistent widow and the friend at midnight get access, not because they are strong but because they are desperate. Learned desperation is at the heart of a praying life.

How desperate are you? The prayers of Jesus are cries of desperation:- “Father if you are willing take this cup from me”. “My God, My God why have you forsaken me?”

“The gospel, God’s free gift of grace in Jesus, only works when we realise we don’t have it all together. The same is true for prayer. The very thing we are allergic to-our helplessness-is what makes prayer work. It works because we are helpless. We can’t do life on our own.”

“The great struggle of my life is not trying to discern God’s will, it is trying to discern and then disown my own. Once I see that, then prayer flows. I have to be praying because I’m no longer in charge. Either I see all of life as a gift, or  I demand that life have a certain look to it.”

What a great challenge to be praying like Jesus in desperation because we are weak and so desperate. What a great challenge to be praying ‘not my will, but yours be done.’ What a great challenge not to be praying God this is the decision ‘I’ have made in isolation from you and your people but guide me and lead me into your will through your Word and your people.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

